Photo Corners

A   S C R A P B O O K   O F   S O L U T I O N S   F O R   T H E   P H O T O G R A P H E R

Enhancing the enjoyment of taking pictures with news that matters, features that entertain and images that delight. Published frequently.

Winners of BJP International Photography Award 2020 Announced Share This on LinkedIn   Tweet This   Forward This

17 December 2020

The British Journal of Photography and 1854 have announced the winners of the BJP International Photography Award 2020.

Emeric Lhuisset. From the series 'Theater of War'.

First place was awarded to Parisian-born artist Emeric Lhuisset with his series Theater of War. Lhuisset will receive a solo exhibition at the esteemed TJ Boulting Gallery in Fitzrovia, London.

Theater of War examines the theatrical image of conflict, staging real Kurdish guerilla groups in hyper-realistic settings to blur the boundaries between art and journalism. Lhuisset produced L'Autre Rive eight years later with the same subjects, after they had become refugees in Europe. By comparing these two series, he seeks to deconstruct the viewer's gaze on refugees.

"On one hand," says the artist, "I am confronting viewers with the paradox that Kurdish fighters -- who were heroised by most Westerners for their fierce fight against ISIS -- are considered outcasts and parasites by many of these same people once they have crossed the sea. On the other hand, I am presenting images that differ from the usual representations of refugees, by showing a daily life that could be any of ours."


Second place was shared by Elena Helfrecht and Giulia Parlato.

Elena Helfrecht. From the series 'Plexus'.

Elena Helfrecht takes joint-second place in the solo show category with Plexus, a photographic case study based on still lifes that emerge from inherited trauma and postmemory.

Giulia Parlato. From the series 'Diachronicles'.

Giulia Parlato's Diachronicles analyses the historical use of photography as a document of truth.


For the first time, BJP IPA 2020 is producing a single image show alongside the classic solo show.

Michelle Watt. Among the single image winners.

The 20 single image winners include James Wilde, Michael Barry, Marisol Mendez, Sandra Madelane and Michelle Watt.

From Icelandic glaciers to Irish diners, domestic shots made in isolation to a Venezualan immigrant's search for freedom, the curation compiles a varied and vibrant display of exceptional contemporary photography.

BackBack to Photo Corners